Skip to content ↓

Sports Awards 2023

It has been a great year of sport here at Denefield. On Wednesday 5 July we celebrated many of the brilliant students that have represented us throughout the year.

This year, we took part in 148 fixtures including: football, rugby, netball, badminton, athletics, rounders and cricket. We reached six finals, five athletes represented West Berkshire and six athletes represented Berkshire.

We ran a successful Sports Tour to Barcelona in Spain, where the students enjoyed fixtures against other schools, a tour of Espanyol Stadium and spent a day at Water World. Next year we are off to Holland in the Easter holidays!

The Virtu football programme at Sixth Form, has had a successful season in the Tactics League. It has been brilliant to see them playing, and we look forward to building on this success next year.

Sports Awards Evening was about celebrating the students who have shown great commitment and dedication to sport at Denefield.  We were fortunate enough to welcome Mikki Austin as our guest speaker for the evening. She is an elite netball player and Director of Netball, Head Coach and player for Vitality Super League team, Surrey Storm.

Below are the award recipients from the evening:

U13 Rugby - Sergio Alonso-Ruano

U14 Rugby - Darion Barry

U15 Rugby - Lucas Venter

U16 Rugby - Thomas Bisoffi

U12 Football - Adam Preston

U13 Football - Max Harman

U14 Football - Dexter Gower

U15 Football - Jimmy Rolfe

U16 Football - Alex Brommell

U12 Football - Lacey Bailey

U13 Football - Charlotte Watson

U14 Football - Freya Taylor

U15 Football - Alisha Butt

U16 Football - Fleur Williams

U18 Football - Zak Barnett

U12 Netball - Mya Punter

U13 Netball - Kaitlin Gorejena

U14 Netball - Alba del Prado Trujilo

U15 Netball - Chloe Pyke

U16 Netball - Ella Watts

U13 Athlete - Victor Richards-Gitierrez

U14 Athlete - Ellis Jalland

U16 Athlete - Andy Crerar

U13 Athlete - Samaria Crerar

U14 Athlete - Darcy Burgess

U16 Athlete - Ella Palmer

U12 Rounders - Bella Pavey

U13 Rounders - Lilly-Mae Basden

U14 Rounders - Evie Barrett

U15 Rounders - Alicia Farmer

Team of the Year - U16 Girls Football

Sports Personality of the Year KS3 Boy - Joe Barnett

Sports Personality of the Year KS3 Girl - Kiera Frankum

Sports Personality of the Year KS4 Boy - Alfie Palmer

Sports Personality of the Year KS4 Girl - Evelyn Pavey

Sportsman of the Year KS3 - Jacob Belcher

Sportswoman of the Year KS3 - Lilly Walls

Sportsman of the Year KS4 - Harlen Lewis

Sportswoman of the Year KS4 - Ellie Manners

Bald Eagle Award - Sasha Wood

Sue Lambrigsten Cup - Andy Crerar

Lisa Downey Cup - Benny Crockford

Michael Jeffery Award - Caitlin Burden

Shandon Baptiste Cup - Leon Japher